Review: Champion by Marie Lu

December 5, 2013 Dystopia, Marie Lu, Reviews 8 ★★★★½

Champion by Marie Lu
Series: Legend # 3
Published by Putnam Juvenile on November 5, 2013
Genres: Dystopia
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover
Source: Puchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars
The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

I have to start this review by discussing the last few pages of this incredible trilogy.  Champion has such a beautiful, perfect ending, and it felt like Marie Lu wrote it as a love letter to her fans.  No doubt she loves June and Day even more than we do, but when she signed off on this series with such compassion and respect, I couldn’t help but feel appreciated as a reader and a fan.  I read Champion right after Allegiant, and unless you’ve been living under a rock, you know that the ending of Allegiant enraged some readers.  For the record, I liked it, but I was nowhere near as invested in that series as I am with Legend.  I can’t say I would have been thrilled if Lu had chosen to end Legend in a similar fashion, although I’m pretty sure my reaction would have stopped well short of death threats.

Throughout this series, the love between June and Day has always been genuine and never forced.  They complement each other perfectly, and they need each other more than ever now.  The Republic is under attack from both within and without: a deadly plague and a seemingly inevitable war with the Colonies.  The Republic attempts to enlist the assistance of Antarctica for its military might, and this gives us a chance to see the similarities and the differences in how the three societies operate.  It’s interesting, because all are flawed in one way or another, and we really only root for one side as “the best” because we happen to care its inhabitants.

Meanwhile, the Chancellor of the Colonies gets his evil clutches on Day, and this was the one part of the story that seemed false.  He blackmails Day with sleazy threats to get Day to work for him, but of course, Day is not the type to cave.  Where the Chancellor could have approached Day in a non-threatening way by explaining how they could have a mutually beneficial (albeit distasteful) relationship, he instead ensured that Day would do everything possible to thwart him.  The Chancellor also knew enough about Day and his background to know that Day would not respond well to threats, and Day’s reaction should have been predictable.

Aside from this minor complaint, there was so much to love in Champion, highlighted, of course, by the deep and complicated relationship between June and Day.  And if there was a touch of cliche in the ending, who cares?  It was so powerfully and beautifully moving.  Just read it, and tell me you didn’t get choked up, too.  My thanks to Marie Lu for sharing this beautiful story with us.

Stephanie

8 Responses to “Review: Champion by Marie Lu”

  1. Kristen@My Friends Are Fiction

    I have only read Legend and was the only person that wasn’t blown away with the series. Everything I see is all about this series but for some reason the first book didn’t grab me. I felt like both POVs were sort of similar and the male voice didn’t seem very masculine to me. I really need to reread I think since so many of my blogger friends love it so much. Glad to see that you really loved the way this one ended 🙂
    Kristen@My Friends Are Fiction recently posted…Review of Rebel Spring by Morgan RhodesMy Profile

  2. Nikki @ Foil the Plot

    I just finished Champion last night and WOW. THAT ENDING. I think a lot of YA authors like to wrap up series with these tidy, neat, perfect little bows but that doesn’t always work for me. For example, I totally respect Roth for how she chose to end Allegiant and I thought it kept with the characters, hard as it was to bear. I do think Lu dealt some pretty tough blows with Day but I loved how the ending was very open-ended and hopeful. It was kind of the best of both worlds and it had me all teary-eyed. Perfection.
    Nikki @ Foil the Plot recently posted…Book Review: Prodigy by Marie LuMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge